Living abroad

Nieuwkomer

Hello,

I am a student at a dutch applied science university and I have an insurance. However, I am doing my internship now in germany. I had to unregister from my dutch address and register with my temporary german address. This internship is a mandatory part of my studies. 

I just received an email from the insurance company that the price for my insurance might change. why would I need to cancel my insurance now? I still need it. 

• Buitenland

Living abroad

4 ANTWOORDEN

Re: Living abroad

Fanatiekeling

Hello, in case a Dutch student goes abroad to Germany for instance, then his insurance stops at the moment he earns money. If this is the case, then you have to take a german insurance. 

If you are for instance Italian, then I can imagine that the situation is different, also in the case that you are only going to study there. Because why should you have a Dutch insurance, while you are Italian and living in Germany? 

I think that Zilveren Kruis has to know more about your exact situation to judge the insurance-position. Alternatively there is the dutch " social Insurance Bank" , SVB, which has the ultimate judgment. But beware, they take a lot of time ( 2 months), and probably you donot have that. If Zilveren Kruis decides something, you could let it be, except in the case you think it is not correct. 

You could also take a look in the rules from the European Commission ( if you are European), because Europ doesnot intend to let it be so complicated: on the contrary: it should be simple.

Groet, Feina.

Expert

Hello EmyFresco,

Thank you for your question.

Are you receiving payment for your internship? If so, it might be you are not entitled to Dutch health insurance during your internship. The threshold differs per EU country. Please ask the Sociale Verzekeringsbank for a Wlz check. You can apply for the Wlz check via this link .